Managing Gitpod workspaces

To preserve usage minutes on Gitpod, you can manually stop a Gitpod workspace as soon as you have finished with it. A workspace can be stopped either in the workspace via the Gitpod button in the bottom-left corner and then selecting "Gitpod: Stop workspace" in the dropdown menu. or via visiting https://gitpod.io, hovering on the workspace, left-clicking on the vertical dots (⋮) and selecting "Stop".

On the free plan, Gitpod workspaces allow 30 minutes of inactivity before the workspace stops running. Stopped workspaces are not immediately deleted; you have several days to open a stopped workspace before its deletion.

You can see which Gitpod workspaces you have open by visiting https://gitpod.io when logged into Gitpod, or clicking the Gitpod button in the bottom-left of the screen and selecting "Gitpod: Open dashboard". The stopped workspaces are visible by changing the search filter from "Active" to "All", and you can open a stopped workspace by hovering on the workspace, left-clicking on the vertical dots (⋮) and selecting "Open".